Hong Kong Mathematical Society

The Hong Kong Mathematical Society

The main initiative for the creation of the Hong Kong Mathematical Society came from Y C Wong. The Society was founded in 1979 with four institutional members: the Chinese University of Hong Kong; the Hong Kong Baptist College; Hong Kong Polytechnic; and the University of Hong Kong. Over the years the number of institutional members has increased to fourteen.

The Society became a member of the International Mathematical Union in 1982. It is responsible for editing of the Bulletin of South East Asian Mathematical Society, and since 1997 the Society has had its own Bulletin of the Hong Kong Mathematical Society.

Among the major conferences organised by the Society was the South East Asian Mathematical Society Conference in 1980 and the First Asian Mathematical Conference in 1990.

Other Web sitesSociety Web-site

Alphabetical list of Societies Chronological list of Societies
Main MacTutor index Biographies Index

JOC/EFR August 2004 School of Mathematics and Statistics
University of St Andrews, Scotland
The URL of this page is: