Shaw Prize

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences

The Shaw Prize is an international award managed and administered by The Shaw Prize Foundation based in Hong Kong. It was established under the auspices of Run Run Shaw.
Mathematics is the basic language of all natural sciences and all modern technology. In the twentieth century mathematics made tremendous strides both in opening new frontiers and in solving important and difficult old problems. Its influence permeates every creative scientific and technological discipline, and extends into the social science. With the developments in computer science, information technology, and statistics in the twentieth century, the importance of mathematics to mankind will be further enhanced in the twenty-first century.
2004 Shiing-Shen Chern
... for his initiation of the field of global differential geometry and his continued leadership of the field, resulting in beautiful developments that are at the centre of contemporary mathematics, with deep connections to topology, algebra and analysis, in short, to all major branches of mathematics of the last sixty years.
2005 Andrew John Wiles
... for his proof of Fermat's Last Theorem.
2006 David Mumford (shared)
... for his contributions to mathematics, and to the new interdisciplinary fields of pattern theory and vision research.
2006 Wu Wen-Tsun (shared)
... for his contributions to the new interdisciplinary field of mathematics mechanization.
2007 Robert Langlands and Richard Taylor
... for initiating and developing a grand unifying vision of mathematics that connects prime numbers with symmetry.
2008 Vladimir Arnold and Ludwig Faddeev
... for their widespread and influential contributions to Mathematical Physics.
2009 Simon K Donaldson Clifford H Taubes
... for their many brilliant contributions to geometry in 3 and 4 dimensions.
2010 Jean Bourgain
... for his profound work in mathematical analysis and its application to partial differential equations, mathematical physics, combinatorics, number theory, ergodic theory and theoretical computer science.
2011 Demetrios Christodoulou and Richard S Hamilton
... for their highly innovative works on nonlinear partial differential equations in Lorentzian and Riemannian geometry and their applications to general relativity and topology.
2012 Maxim Kontsevich
... for his pioneering works in algebra, geometry and mathematical physics and in particular deformation quantization, motivic integration and mirror symmetry.
2013 David L Donoho
... for his profound contributions to modern mathematical statistics and in particular the development of optimal algorithms for statistical estimation in the presence of noise and of efficient techniques for sparse representation and recovery in large data-sets.
2014 George Lusztig
... for his fundamental contributions to algebra, algebraic geometry, and representation theory, and for weaving these subjects together to solve old problems and reveal beautiful new connections.

Index of Societies Index of Honours, etc.
Main index Biographies Index

JOC/EFR October 2016

The URL of this page is: